Five-Day Countdown to Valentine’s Day: Day 4

Happy Tuesday! Yesterday, we forgave ourselves and our hubbies. We gave ourselves a clean slate. Today we are going to focus on Love–after all, we are preparing for Valentine’s Day! Specifically, we want to create a safe place to express our heartfelt commitment to each other.  We need:

The Five Love Languages

In Gary Chapman’s book, The Five Love Languages, he outlines five ways that we might “speak love” to our husbands and sense love from him (pg 40, in case you want to look it up). If you have not already read The Five Love Languages, I highly recommend it. Unless we speak love in the language our husband understands, we might as well be speaking a foreign language. Those five different love languages are:

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Quality Time
  3. Receiving Gifts
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Physical Touch 
  • Identify your love language and let your husband know if he is not already aware.

  •  What do you think his love language is?  Consider asking him and then plan your gift according to his love language. If he likes words of affirmation, write him a letter.  If he likes quality time, carve some out for him.  If he likes receiving gifts, find out what he wants and get it. If he likes acts of service, provide a pampering experience for him.  If he likes physical touch–well, wife, you know what to do! We will cover that in detail later this week.

Heavenly Father:  Today we ask for help and guidance as we learn to communicate love to our husbands in a way that he is wired to understand.  We are the conduits of Your love to our husbands.  Let us take this role seriously and have fun at the same time. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Page 5 of 71« First...«34567»102030...Last »